pharaoh fortune slot
ExamNotes.net
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
November 22, 2017, 02:29:48 PM

Login with username, password and session length
* Home Help Search Login Register
+  ExamNotes.net
|-+  Microsoft (MCSE, MCSD, MOUS, MCAD)
| |-+  70-218
| | |-+  "route add" question
0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic. « previous next »
Pages: [1] Print
Author Topic: "route add" question  (Read 2308 times)
ruscorp
Moderator
Global Moderator
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 7887

0


View Profile WWW
« on: September 04, 2002, 02:59:13 PM »

I came across this question in my EasyCert 218 demo. It has to do with the route command. It gives me the answer and explanation, but I still do not understand. Can anyone elaborate?

The question can be found here:
http://ruscorpx.org/70218/question.jpg

The 2 exhibits assoicated with it here: http://ruscorpx.org/70218/exhibit01.jpg and http://ruscorpx.org/70218/exhibit02.jpg
Logged

- -- Anti Dublin Crew -- -
Spid
Moderator
Global Moderator
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 3913

0


View Profile
« Reply #1 on: September 04, 2002, 03:53:24 PM »

Hi ruscorp,

Yes, "B" is the correct answer, and I'll take a stab at an explanation for you.  As Freak once told me when I was trying to understand a route print command display, "Be the packet".

Basically the command breaks down to Route Add mask gateway -p (persistent route).

NYROUTE1 is currently only aware of the 10.1.2.0, 10.1.3.0 and 10.1.4.0 subnetworks. It can successfully route packets to any of these 3 subnetworks.  However, it is not aware of the 10.1.5.0 network or where to send packets that are destined for the 10.1.5.0 network.

So establshing a persistent route via the Route Add command on the NYROUTE1 box is telling the NYROUTE1 box that any packet destined for the 10.1.5.0 network should be sent to the 10.1.4.253 gateway, which is the interface on the BOSROUTE1 box which knows about the 10.1.5.0 network and will handle directing the packet to BOSFP01 at 10.1.5.5.

If we do not establish this route on NYROUTE1, anything destined for the 10.1.5.0 network will get dropped at this point because the NYROUTE1 box does not know where to send the 10.1.5.0 subnetwork destined packet regardless as to whether the client is in London or New York for that matter.

Hope this helps!
Logged

"I was planning to take over the world, but got distracted by something sparkly..."
ruscorp
Moderator
Global Moderator
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 7887

0


View Profile WWW
« Reply #2 on: September 05, 2002, 11:09:56 AM »

Spid: Thanks for the info! Smiley
Logged

- -- Anti Dublin Crew -- -
wertop
Member
Jr. Member
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 80

0


View Profile
« Reply #3 on: March 08, 2003, 11:44:37 AM »

Yes, the answer in EasyCert is correct.

Thanks for the info Spid!
Logged
Pages: [1] Print 
« previous next »
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.13 | SMF © 2006-2011, Simple Machines LLC Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!