pharaoh fortune slot
ExamNotes.net
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
November 19, 2017, 08:29:46 AM

Login with username, password and session length
* Home Help Search Login Register
+  ExamNotes.net
|-+  Microsoft (MCSE, MCSD, MOUS, MCAD)
| |-+  70-218
| | |-+  2 Hosts on Same Subnet?
0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic. « previous next »
Pages: [1] Print
Author Topic: 2 Hosts on Same Subnet?  (Read 1601 times)
Tech Ranger
On A Mission
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 5309

2


View Profile
« on: July 07, 2002, 10:51:26 PM »

Does anybody know of a fast and easy way to determine if 2 hosts on a network with a custom mask are part of the same subnet?
Logged

The Computer is a creation of man.  Man is a creation of God! -  
Joe from Brooklyn
Sexy Lexy
Time to be bad
Global Moderator
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 2050

2


View Profile
« Reply #1 on: July 08, 2002, 09:24:40 AM »

The easiest way I know is to and the addresses to determine if they are on the same subnet, don't think there is a utility in W2K to determine this.

What is the problem?

:p
Logged

Stewie: "I say, Rupert, this paste is quite delicious. It's almost worth the bowel obstruction."
Spid
Moderator
Global Moderator
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 3913

0


View Profile
« Reply #2 on: July 08, 2002, 09:39:02 AM »

If you have a solid grasp of subnetting, you should be able to work this out by hand in less than a minute.

If not, it may take you a few minutes. Wink

I'm with Sexy Lexy in that I do not know of any utility of the top of my head that will do this for you.  If someone does know of a utility, please post because I would be interested in chekcing it out.  I've always subnetted networks out by hand.

Maybe someone in the Cisco forums would know of a quicker easier way.

HTH!
Logged

"I was planning to take over the world, but got distracted by something sparkly..."
Sexy Lexy
Time to be bad
Global Moderator
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 2050

2


View Profile
« Reply #3 on: July 08, 2002, 09:43:43 AM »

WTG Spid, I never thought of that!

One of the Cisco bods might know a quick way of doing it. Like spid, I always calculate the subnets by hand then check them to make sure I haven't done something wrong.

A wasted effort you may think with so many subnet calculators out there but, it keeps the skill active and saves you having to revise subnetting for exams :p


:cool:
Logged

Stewie: "I say, Rupert, this paste is quite delicious. It's almost worth the bowel obstruction."
Tech Ranger
On A Mission
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 5309

2


View Profile
« Reply #4 on: July 08, 2002, 07:37:54 PM »

Thanks for the responses.  I wasn't looking for a utility.  I was thinking in terms of the math approach to use if confronted with such a question on a test.  I would convert the subnet addresses to binary and compare them.  I was wondering what mathematical approach most people use to whiz through stuff like this.  I still find subnetting tricky.  You guys are talking about real world use of subnetting.  I am curious, with proxy servers, Nat, firewalls, and all that kind of technology, is there really that much subnetting still going on?  If so, why?
Logged

The Computer is a creation of man.  Man is a creation of God! -  
Joe from Brooklyn
Zaraspook
Senior Member
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 1083

0


View Profile
« Reply #5 on: July 08, 2002, 07:50:08 PM »

Click below for an easy to memorize handy chart you can use to solve any subnetting problem. Write it down on the provided scratch sheet before you begin your next exam, and you'll be able to solve any subnetting question you face in only a fraction of the time.

Work some practice problems with it and see why I call it the Magic Chart. I guarantee you will too! It truly is subnetting made easy!!! Wink


http://www.certnotes.com/microsoft/tcpip/EazySubnetting.htm
Logged

Due to financial problems, the light at the end of the tunnel will be shut down until further notice.
Deja-vue
Challenge Everything
Global Moderator
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 3254

2


View Profile WWW
« Reply #6 on: July 08, 2002, 10:07:12 PM »

I visit http://www.learntosubnet.com

for a little fresh up.

But most of the Time, i use Solarwinds Advanced Subnet calculator, which is awesome.

Check it out at http://www.solarwinds.net
i don't know, if it is still free.
Logged

Deja-vue
Challenge Everything
Global Moderator
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 3254

2


View Profile WWW
« Reply #7 on: July 08, 2002, 10:10:23 PM »

Yeah, i just checked it, still free for some personal info...
It's about 11 MB, but it beats them all.
Logged

Tech Ranger
On A Mission
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 5309

2


View Profile
« Reply #8 on: July 09, 2002, 11:29:00 PM »

Quote
But most of the Time, i use Solarwinds Advanced Subnet calculator, which is awesome.

Thanks a million!  This is tremendous.
Logged

The Computer is a creation of man.  Man is a creation of God! -  
Joe from Brooklyn
Spid
Moderator
Global Moderator
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 3913

0


View Profile
« Reply #9 on: July 10, 2002, 09:19:39 AM »

Quote
Originally posted by Deja-vue

But most of the Time, i use Solarwinds Advanced Subnet calculator, which is awesome.

Check it out at http://www.solarwinds.net
i don't know, if it is still free.


Thanks alot for the link Deja-vue.  I think I just found a new friend. Smiley
Logged

"I was planning to take over the world, but got distracted by something sparkly..."
Deja-vue
Challenge Everything
Global Moderator
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 3254

2


View Profile WWW
« Reply #10 on: July 10, 2002, 10:15:41 AM »

I am glad to know, i finally helped someone.
Logged

Pages: [1] Print 
« previous next »
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.13 | SMF © 2006-2011, Simple Machines LLC Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!