pharaoh fortune slot
ExamNotes.net
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
November 23, 2017, 12:52:18 PM

Login with username, password and session length
* Home Help Search Login Register
+  ExamNotes.net
|-+  Microsoft (MCSE, MCSD, MOUS, MCAD)
| |-+  MCSE elective exams
| | |-+  Exchange server 2000
| | | |-+  Where do you configure exchange to dial up?
0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic. « previous next »
Pages: [1] Print
Author Topic: Where do you configure exchange to dial up?  (Read 1843 times)
Ando
Member
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 619

1


View Profile
« on: April 01, 2002, 01:50:31 PM »

sorry for brief question,

where bouts in exchange do i configure it to dial up to my Isp to collect *@domain.com emails ?  I want to dial up every 30mins so as to download all *@domain.com emails and then for exchange to organise it out to proper users.

thanks
Logged
larkspur
Senior Member
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 333

0


View Profile WWW
« Reply #1 on: April 04, 2002, 08:12:15 AM »

whixh version of exchange ?
Logged
Ando
Member
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 619

1


View Profile
« Reply #2 on: April 04, 2002, 09:33:07 AM »

hiya, its exchange 2000.  I got a responce elsewhere, and i think the dial up is configured in RRAS Smiley I'l be trying it out later when i have a change Wink
Logged
Yeti-GBR1
A Complete Twit
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 1036

2


View Profile WWW
« Reply #3 on: April 04, 2002, 02:02:03 PM »

Here have a look at this one as well...I may have slightly mis guided you:

http://www.examnotes.net/forums/showthread.php?s=&postid=183274#post183274
Logged

Yeti the Inquisitive Cheesy

MCNE, MCSE(NT4), MCSE 2000, SCO ACE, LCP, Compaq ASE, CCNA, CCIE Wannabe (part of the Wannabe Boffin Club).

http://www.yeti-gbr1.co.uk
http://www.ciscolabs.co.uk
Yeti-GBR1
A Complete Twit
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 1036

2


View Profile WWW
« Reply #4 on: April 04, 2002, 02:03:37 PM »

You need to setup an RRAS connection to your ISp and then use the Exchange admin to configure the SMTP connector as shown in 5.gif in the post above.
Logged

Yeti the Inquisitive Cheesy

MCNE, MCSE(NT4), MCSE 2000, SCO ACE, LCP, Compaq ASE, CCNA, CCIE Wannabe (part of the Wannabe Boffin Club).

http://www.yeti-gbr1.co.uk
http://www.ciscolabs.co.uk
Ando
Member
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 619

1


View Profile
« Reply #5 on: April 05, 2002, 11:55:02 AM »

ah right, I think i'm starting to understand where your coming from yeti Smiley  

I had a look last night, but could'nt get me head around where in RRAS to configure an exchange demand dial? I'l have another look tonight and get back to ya l8tr Cheesy
Logged
Ando
Member
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 619

1


View Profile
« Reply #6 on: April 06, 2002, 09:46:50 AM »

ok, I've got mail going through the smtp connector, but it only sends when already connected to the internet Sad
Can you be a bit more specific yeti about how to create a demand dial for exchange within RRAS?  I'm a bit iffy on where and how to create the demand dial ?
Logged
Yeti-GBR1
A Complete Twit
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 1036

2


View Profile WWW
« Reply #7 on: April 07, 2002, 11:28:28 AM »

Ok now look at your dial up configuration it should have a "custom" setting allowing you to set when it is active/inactive and that's all..bingo job done Smiley
Logged

Yeti the Inquisitive Cheesy

MCNE, MCSE(NT4), MCSE 2000, SCO ACE, LCP, Compaq ASE, CCNA, CCIE Wannabe (part of the Wannabe Boffin Club).

http://www.yeti-gbr1.co.uk
http://www.ciscolabs.co.uk
Ando
Member
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 619

1


View Profile
« Reply #8 on: April 12, 2002, 05:49:59 AM »

sorry yeti, I still have not figured out where the custom settings are?  are you talking about in 'start', settings, 'network and dial up connections' ?  or the demand dial connection itself? or the 'connector' within exchange server manager?  
I haven't been able to find a custom settings in any of them Sad

jeez, why did microsoft ever get rid of the internet mail service for 2000 Sad ! lol
Logged
Ando
Member
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 619

1


View Profile
« Reply #9 on: April 12, 2002, 06:21:38 AM »

i found this link on the micro site:
http://support.microsoft.com/search/preview.aspx?scid=kb;en-us;Q251700 buts its as helpful as a arabian farmer on holiday Smiley and the following page 'How to configure smtp connecors' acts as if everyone in the world has an always on connection Sad
Logged
Ando
Member
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 619

1


View Profile
« Reply #10 on: April 13, 2002, 12:44:02 PM »

yes, I finally got exchange dialling on demand Smiley The problem was RRas was not configured correctly

thx for the help Smiley
Logged
Pages: [1] Print 
« previous next »
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.13 | SMF © 2006-2011, Simple Machines LLC Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!