pharaoh fortune slot
ExamNotes.net
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
November 18, 2017, 07:55:16 AM

Login with username, password and session length
* Home Help Search Login Register
+  ExamNotes.net
|-+  General discussions
| |-+  IT career women
| | |-+  How hard is it for a women to get in the IT field?
Pages: [1] Print
Author Topic: How hard is it for a women to get in the IT field?  (Read 1645 times)
Serez

View Profile WWW
« on: December 12, 2000, 06:56:00 PM »

I am currently a women student and needed to know if it is harder for a women to be employed in the field or just about as difficult or easy as a man to be hired?  And for the men that are reading this is there any reasons why you wouldn't hire a women?  Just wondering!

Serez
Serez

View Profile WWW
« Reply #1 on: December 13, 2000, 04:59:00 PM »

Let me explain the reason for the question. Like I stated I am a student at a technical college.  During my studies and lab time I had several instructors not listen or want to help understand a subject.  But when the men in the class spoke, instructors listened. Once I confronted one instructor his response was vague and rude.  What I was wondering and if any one feels like answering, is this the case in some work places?

Thanks

Serez
GalaxyGal

View Profile WWW
« Reply #2 on: December 13, 2000, 05:19:00 PM »

Girl, you need to be more assertive!

I earned my degree in the late 80's.  And yes I know exactly what you mean!  I was always the only woman in either digital communications, electronics or electrical circuitry.  That was in a class of 30!

Most professors were exactly as you stated, but I noticed the men tended to be more assertive.  They would literally argue a point with the instructor, I would back down.