pharaoh fortune slot
ExamNotes.net
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
November 23, 2017, 03:24:35 AM

Login with username, password and session length
* Home Help Search Login Register
+  ExamNotes.net
|-+  Microsoft (MCSE, MCSD, MOUS, MCAD)
| |-+  MCSE elective exams
| | |-+  70-088
| | | |-+  Done - 867
0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic. « previous next »
Pages: [1] Print
Author Topic: Done - 867  (Read 1095 times)
Anna
Junior Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 11

0


View Profile WWW
« on: December 18, 2000, 10:03:00 PM »

Finally I earned my MCSE. The Exam had some questions from braindumps but not all of them. It's true when people say that you have to study which I did. I used Proxy "exam prep" + CD with two tests and "on site" books, transcenders, Freak's site, Microsoft's site and I checked on braindumps just to get the flavour. Make sure that you understand it.

I had only one question on subnetting and I don't have a problem with subnetting but I got confused with this one. I don't remember all the wording but comes to this. You have internal NIC with IP 10.231.54.1 and subnet 255.255.255.224. (100% sure) and there is external NIC with IP and subnet mask. Which of these will be in LAT:
- 10.231.54.60   
- 10.231.54.72
- 10.231.54.90
- IP that had to do with external NIC

I guessed the first two. Does anybody know this?
Logged
Spid
Moderator
Global Moderator
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 3913

0


View Profile
« Reply #1 on: December 18, 2000, 10:30:00 PM »

Well Done Anna!!  Congrats on becoming an MCSE.  Proxy was my last exam as well, and when I passed it to become MCSE it was a great feeling!!

As for your question....looks like we have a 6 network, .32 subnetwork structure. (255.255.255.224 subnet mask).

The 10.231.54.60 address is in the .32 sub-network along with the 10.231.54.1 Internal NIC address.

The other two addresses you gave are in the .64 network.

Based on this, I'd answer just the first one (10.231.54.60)  Smiley

Anyone else?

Spid
Net+, MCSE
Logged

"I was planning to take over the world, but got distracted by something sparkly..."
seeker
Senior Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 35

0


View Profile WWW
« Reply #2 on: December 18, 2000, 11:22:00 PM »

sorry but if the ip address is 10.231.54.1, and the subnet mask is 255.255.255.224 then none of these are on the same as 10.231.54.1, maybe the question was with subnet mask 255.255.224.0 then answer a is correct. Great Job on the test. Must feel good to get it out of the way, any future test plans?..I thought I wouls stop but I have since taken exchange and want proxy..great job again.

Seeker
MCSE, MCP+I, CNA
+Exchange, currently working on proxy.
Logged

Seeker
Spid
Moderator
Global Moderator
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 3913

0


View Profile
« Reply #3 on: December 18, 2000, 11:35:00 PM »

Ya Seeker, you are 100% correct.  Smiley

I was working with the 255.255.224.0 subnet mask.  Whoopsie!

Sorry about the confusion Anna.  If the subnet mask was 255.255.255.224, none of the answers, as Seeker states, would be in the LAT.

Spid
Net+, MCSE
Logged

"I was planning to take over the world, but got distracted by something sparkly..."
GIXXER
Junior Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 7

0


View Profile WWW
« Reply #4 on: December 19, 2000, 01:27:00 AM »

CONGRATS...taking proxy!!
speaking of which, what is FREAK'S site?
Logged

MCP, MCSE, A+
Anna
Junior Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 11

0


View Profile WWW
« Reply #5 on: December 19, 2000, 04:10:00 AM »

Thanks guys on your congrats but when it comes to my question I am 100% sure that subnet was 255.255.255.224. and that's why I got confused. I came to the same calculation as Spid but if I am not mistaken they asked for two choices.

Freak's site is www.mcsefreak.com
Logged
seeker
Senior Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 35

0


View Profile WWW
« Reply #6 on: December 19, 2000, 04:32:00 AM »

sorry to say but that is not possible. since that is blocking all except the last octect. by using 255.255.255.224 none of the above ip addresses are on the same network. since the network address 10.231.54 remember the question is which of these will be in the local address table. the only 2 that could would be on the same network are .72 and .90, but they are not on the same as .1 which would only go to 30 addresses..
Logged

Seeker
Spid
Moderator
Global Moderator
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 3913

0


View Profile
« Reply #7 on: December 19, 2000, 02:32:00 PM »

I would think for this to work, you would need some type of router / gateway configuration specified in the question.

Anna, was there anything router / gateway information given?  Because if there wasn't, Seeker is correct and none of the answers would work as the question is stated.

Spid
Net+, MCSE
Logged

"I was planning to take over the world, but got distracted by something sparkly..."
Anna
Junior Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 11

0


View Profile WWW
« Reply #8 on: December 19, 2000, 06:49:00 PM »

I am pretty sure there was no gateway information. I had IP addresses of internal and external NICs and their subnet masks. After calculation I came to the same conclusion that none of them are on the same subnet and that's when I got confused. I thought that it could be typo. In the question about domain filter they used wildcard (*) and you are not suppoused to use that for domain filter.
Logged
Pages: [1] Print 
« previous next »
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.13 | SMF © 2006-2011, Simple Machines LLC Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!