pharaoh fortune slot
ExamNotes.net
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
November 18, 2017, 03:45:56 PM

Login with username, password and session length
* Home Help Search Login Register
+  ExamNotes.net
|-+  Microsoft (MCSE, MCSD, MOUS, MCAD)
| |-+  MCSE elective exams
| | |-+  70-088
| | | |-+  cache filter
0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic. « previous next »
Pages: [1] Print
Author Topic: cache filter  (Read 782 times)
Anna
Junior Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 11

0


View Profile WWW
« on: December 17, 2000, 07:38:00 AM »

when there is a filter saying:
- *.bozo.com/*             cached
- www.bozo.com/db*       not cached

what is cached, what is not? The books that I have do not say much. In different tests I found different answers. Like: everything is gonna be cached or everything is gonna be cached except www.bozo.com/db.  Can anybody help me?
Logged
Spid
Moderator
Global Moderator
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 3913

0


View Profile
« Reply #1 on: December 17, 2000, 04:37:00 PM »

Hi Anna,

The first filter states to cache everything in the bozo.com domain.

The second filter presents an exception to the first filter.

If there was a third filter, that would present an exception to the second filter, etc...and so on   Wink

So for this, everything is going to get cached except what is stated by the second filter.

Hope this helps!!

Spid
Net+, MCSE
Logged

"I was planning to take over the world, but got distracted by something sparkly..."
Anna
Junior Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 11

0


View Profile WWW
« Reply #2 on: December 18, 2000, 03:29:00 PM »

Thanks, that's what I thought but CICPreP test
said something different.
Logged
Kenny
Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 33

0


View Profile WWW
« Reply #3 on: December 18, 2000, 08:15:00 PM »

Think of it this way...

Draw a large circle and write www.bozo.com/*  in the circle. Draw a second circle inside the first one and name it DB. Shade that one in.

What the cache filter is telling you is:

Cache everything on the www.bozo.com  site, including subdirectories.
Wait, I changed my mind... don't cache anything in the DB directory or any subdirectories below it.

So your proxy server will check the filter, and if it is from the www.bozo.com  site, and NOT in the DB directory or any subdirectory of DB, it will be cached.

The reverse could hold true as well...

If it was www.bozo.com/*  do not cache
and www.bozo.com/DB/*  cache
 
It wouldn't cache anything from the www.bozo.com  site except for items from the DB directory, or subdirectories of DB. Think of them as amendments to the constitution  Smiley

Hope it helped.

-Kenny

------------------
CNA (Netware 5)
MCP (Wkstn/Srvr/Enterprise)
Net Essentials, Proxy2.0
Studying: Exchange 5.5
Logged
Pages: [1] Print 
« previous next »
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.13 | SMF © 2006-2011, Simple Machines LLC Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!