pharaoh fortune slot
ExamNotes.net
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
November 20, 2017, 01:24:51 PM

Login with username, password and session length
* Home Help Search Login Register
+  ExamNotes.net
|-+  Cisco
| |-+  CCNP
| | |-+  938 pass on BCMSN
0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic. « previous next »
Pages: [1] Print
Author Topic: 938 pass on BCMSN  (Read 5464 times)
johnaspen
Pi=3.14159265358979323846
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Posts: 200

2


View Profile
« on: October 22, 2005, 12:22:23 AM »

Couldn't believe I was ready since BSCI was only 2 weeks ago.  Didn't find this test all that challenging so I think the general consensus on this one being the most difficult might need re-thinking.  Of course I've only taken 2 so I'm not yet qualified to pass any judgement here.

From my previous post you already know that the current Sybex book is outdated with info that's no longer tested on.  On the flip side of that, I took quite a few notes from the Cisco Press book on AAA, VOIP, and QOS and don't remember getting a single question on any of it.  VTP, VLAN's, and STP (along with it's various flavors) dominated the test.

Questions (legal of course) welcome!  

Later.
Logged
AndyC
XML Spastic
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 575

2


View Profile WWW
« Reply #1 on: October 27, 2005, 05:20:32 PM »

Well done! Onwards and upwards....are you sitting the BCRAN next or CIT?
Logged

Andy C
CCNP, CCVP, CCDA, CQS (WLANSE, WLANFE, Unity Support, IPT Design, IPT Express , IPCC Express, IP Communications Express, CallManager Express), JNCIS-M #1027, JNCIS-FWV #311, F5CSE, CCSE NG, MCSE NT4/2K, MCSE:Messaging, ITIL, A+
johnaspen
Pi=3.14159265358979323846
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Posts: 200

2


View Profile
« Reply #2 on: October 27, 2005, 05:49:37 PM »

Thanks Andy, hitting up BCRAN next so that I'm keeping with the logical ordering of the tests.  Not looking forward to revisting ISDN.  That had to be one of the worst area's for CCNA.
Logged
zxmjkxz
Senior Member
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Posts: 112

0


View Profile
« Reply #3 on: October 28, 2005, 04:35:00 AM »

wow half way.. im jealous =/

you're going through them quickly, did you have any prior experience or do you just spend a lot of time on it daily??
I agree on isdn being the worst on ccna..
gj though =]
Logged
zxmjkxz
Senior Member
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Posts: 112

0


View Profile
« Reply #4 on: October 28, 2005, 04:38:50 AM »

one more thing, do u use sims during or after going through the text, and what sim do u use, still the beta or did u move to somethnig else? congrats!!!
Logged
johnaspen
Pi=3.14159265358979323846
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Posts: 200

2


View Profile
« Reply #5 on: October 29, 2005, 02:25:44 AM »

Loads of free time until December so I'm filling every last minute of it with the wonderful world of Cisco.  Overall each test is going by pretty fast (keep in mind LOTS of free time) and I'm suprised by the scarcity of new material in switching and remote access compared to CCNA material.  Routing had a few biggies (BGP, ISIS, and route filtering).  But remote access, for example, mainly covers ISDN and frame relay which were already base-lined in CCNA.  Basically I was expecting more of a struggle on CCNP since obtaining the CCNA would easily be described as a lot of work.

Netsim beta3b still in use.  They haven't released any updates for it lately.  When I was in the Cisco Acad. I was able to get through some of the CCNP material so I had some hands on with etherchannel, RSTP, etc.  I'm very tempted to ebay some 1900's and 2500's for a real lab, but I'm holding out.  One of those I want but I don't really need deals.....
Logged
zxmjkxz
Senior Member
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Posts: 112

0


View Profile
« Reply #6 on: October 31, 2005, 07:55:45 AM »

I have a set of 2500s and one 1900 but for the ccna I used netsim which mostly uses 2900s and 2600s just like the real exam.

Is the BOSON still  PITA because I am really considering purchase... if you were to do it again, would you buy it or go with something else?
thanks for all the info, =]
Logged
johnaspen
Pi=3.14159265358979323846
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Posts: 200

2


View Profile
« Reply #7 on: October 31, 2005, 07:42:24 PM »

Netsim currently doesn't have any support for BCMSN commands so it's only useful for BSCI and BCRAN.  BUT, even though it does support the commands, they don't always work they way they're supposed to so it's only partially useful.  I know it will kick butt when it's completed, but I'd stear clear of buying it for any immediate studies.
Logged
zxmjkxz
Senior Member
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Posts: 112

0


View Profile
« Reply #8 on: November 01, 2005, 02:54:42 AM »

sounds good thanx. any recomendations??
Logged
johnaspen
Pi=3.14159265358979323846
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Posts: 200

2


View Profile
« Reply #9 on: November 02, 2005, 04:51:02 PM »

routersim.com sells individual sims for each test.  Haven't used it myself though.
Logged
RomeoJett
Junior Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 4

0


View Profile
« Reply #10 on: November 03, 2005, 02:32:34 PM »

Man you knocked that one down quick. I know you said you been studying straight through but you haven't mentioned if you are using on the job experience or not? Is this all just a regualar maturation from your CCNA. I need to get crackin soon.

Thanks Again, and BIG Congrats!

Keep us updated on your next exam.
Logged
johnaspen
Pi=3.14159265358979323846
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Posts: 200

2


View Profile
« Reply #11 on: November 07, 2005, 07:25:36 PM »

Hey Romeo.  I really didn't expect to be moving this quickly through each test, but I'm certainly not complaining.Cheesy  It's all about the free time.  If I was working 40hr weeks right now I would expect to be more on a 2-3 month timeframe per test.

I just passed BCRAN today (new post to follow) which was exactly 2 weeks after BCMSN.  There is a ton of overlap with these CCNP tests and the CCNA which for me meant less time needed for actual studying.  I remember being completely lost on CCNA topics which meant that I needed to hit those areas hard, but I'm really not running into that with the CCNP tests.

So did you just recently take down the CCNA monster?  As you hinted at, I would definitely start immediately.  The only on the job experience I had was real light 3550 "layer 3" switch work.  But I did go through the full Cisco Academy which was a huge help for me.
« Last Edit: November 07, 2005, 07:37:21 PM by johnaspen » Logged
RomeoJett
Junior Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 4

0


View Profile
« Reply #12 on: November 14, 2005, 02:26:27 PM »

I finished my CCNA a while back with the 607 exam. I think I have till November of 06 to get one more test done to keep it current. I think that is how it works.

I initially was going to go right out for CCNP, then I Was looking at CCSP stuff and some the specialities and got off track looking at VOIP stuff. Started a new job and they were getting rid of cisco stuff in favor of 3Com because they were implementing a 3Com voip system, arg. Now they are pushing the pix and firewall stuff to be managed by ATT, which sucks because I wasnt getting any chance on that yet and right about when it looked like I would they push it out. Something new is what they are pushing to is MPLS with PNT. So my chance of working on any Cisco equipment has been derailed in this position. I am still going to work on my cisco stuff though. The certs I have now are MCT Windows 2000 (it expired, couldn't get a job instructing because of the changes in the program and I was a newbie, might renew it in the future) MCSE NT4.0, MCSE 2000
Cisco CCNA, NT-CIP, iNet+, Network+.

I want to add more Cisco to my background, right now I work as an IT Specialist so at least I have a job, but my daily routine is anything from end user support to system administration to voip system setups and phone configurations,pc builds etc. They really squeeze the blood, but it looks like every company is doing that now. I work on the side with a friend when ever he needs help on wiring projects so I keep my skills there, I know pulling wire and punching down is a bit remedial but I enjoy doing the hard side as much as the soft side, plus we get to put in the routers and stuff so I get to see lots of new equipment going into place and get ideas how companies are using it.

I have built a pretty good test lab, but all sudden looking at houses with the soon to be wife turned into buying a house, so after about 6 months of working on stuff and moving in with another 3 finalizing rooms and getting things done, well it will never be done,  I am finally getting a room setup for my home office, so all my routers and computers will have a great place, then I have no more excuses.

Well sorry so long, just giving you the run down on stuff.

Dig the post you put out there, keep it up for all of soon to be CCNPs
Logged
Pages: [1] Print 
« previous next »
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.13 | SMF © 2006-2011, Simple Machines LLC Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!