pharaoh fortune slot
ExamNotes.net
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
November 24, 2017, 04:25:53 PM

Login with username, password and session length
* Home Help Search Login Register
+  ExamNotes.net
|-+  General discussions
| |-+  Hardware
| | |-+  Dell xps r450 memory
0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic. « previous next »
Pages: [1] Print
Author Topic: Dell xps r450 memory  (Read 2133 times)
badpapajj
Senior Member
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Posts: 157

0


View Profile
« on: August 21, 2005, 02:15:18 PM »

I would like to add more than the 384 max memory sug. by the manufacturer. If I add a  pc100 256ram in the three slots will it work or will the pc not respond, will the bus handle it? or how can I go about adding more than the 384?
Logged
badpapajj
Senior Member
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Posts: 157

0


View Profile
« Reply #1 on: August 21, 2005, 02:17:32 PM »

I also have a gateway performance 450 with the same memory limits and questions.
Logged
TheShadow
Member
Jr. Member
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 72

0


View Profile
« Reply #2 on: August 22, 2005, 12:38:33 AM »

Memory limits are not suggestions, they are limits based on address geometry of the actual RAM used on the memory modules.  Your system probably only handles 64 or 128MB DIMMs.  Sticking in a 256 depending on maker will show up as a 64 or 128 meg DIMM depending on the geometry. It is a function of the motherboard chipset and there is not much that you can do.
Logged
curiousgeorge
learn through asking
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 1108

2


View Profile
« Reply #3 on: August 22, 2005, 01:01:53 AM »

yep. you can't polish a turd.
Logged

MCSA Charter Member
MCSE Early Achiever
Server+
Dell certified
HP certified
badpapajj
Senior Member
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Posts: 157

0


View Profile
« Reply #4 on: August 22, 2005, 03:13:45 AM »

Thanks for your reply. I read that by flashing your BIOS it was possible but didn't get how(not how to flash but how that would help). Just wish I could get more RAM into this without spending too much. A new computer is so cheap now a days its just a matter of a hundred bucks or so between upgrading and purchasing new.
Logged
TheShadow
Member
Jr. Member
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 72

0


View Profile
« Reply #5 on: August 22, 2005, 03:39:46 PM »

people want to do to much to old systems.  $200 will buy you a new one with much more power.  If you already have 384K in the Dell it will work great in a 3 to 4 system lab if you are studying for microsoft certs.  While it is starting to suck as a client, it will make a fine little server for those studies.

Oh and flashing the bios to fix it has become an urban myth.  In the early days when ram was changing slower than chipset design it was true.  You could flash to go from PC66 to PC100 to PC133 and from 64meg to 128meg dimms.  A wall was hit at the leap from 128 to 256 mainly because RAMS jumped to 512 so quickly the industry apparently did not fill that hole between 128 and 256.
« Last Edit: August 22, 2005, 03:46:30 PM by TheShadow » Logged
Pages: [1] Print 
« previous next »
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.13 | SMF © 2006-2011, Simple Machines LLC Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!