pharaoh fortune slot
ExamNotes.net
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
November 22, 2017, 12:49:39 PM

Login with username, password and session length
* Home Help Search Login Register
+  ExamNotes.net
|-+  Microsoft (MCSE, MCSD, MOUS, MCAD)
| |-+  70-216
| | |-+  A Real Scenario, Remote access vpn connection
0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic. « previous next »
Pages: [1] Print
Author Topic: A Real Scenario, Remote access vpn connection  (Read 4471 times)
adam salam
IT Fan
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 1265

2


View Profile
« on: May 15, 2005, 05:20:30 PM »

Hi mates

I have a real scenario which I am searching a solution for:

I have configured a remote access vpn connection between two sites, using dynamic DNS service, both sites are in the same domain.

after establishing a vpn connection, they are using software client in the branch office to enter data to the database resides in the head quarter RAS/DC server.

Users in the branch office can brows and edit there files resides in head quarter RAS server with no problem.

The problem is that the data entered using that software, never reach the main database in the HQ server!!!, and they experience a slow link.

In the HQ office the link to the internet is ISDN 128kbps, and in the branch office the link is ADSL ~400kbps.

Where could be the problem?

Thanks
Logged

Best Regards
Adam
jmcuellar
Member
Jr. Member
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 73

0


View Profile
« Reply #1 on: May 15, 2005, 09:47:47 PM »

Sounds like a sync problem...what kind of client s/w and database?
Logged

What next?
adam salam
IT Fan
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 1265

2


View Profile
« Reply #2 on: May 16, 2005, 08:31:16 AM »

Quote
Originally posted by jmcuellar
Sounds like a sync problem...what kind of client s/w and database?


Thanks,

does it matter what kind of client software?

anyway database engine is "pervasive" installed in w3k.
Logged

Best Regards
Adam
jmcuellar
Member
Jr. Member
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 73

0


View Profile
« Reply #3 on: May 16, 2005, 10:55:37 PM »

Yes it does...if the client side isnt setup to do auto syncs at certain time intervals then data wont be updated. You need to check sync issues on client side.

Or it maybe a router issue blocking port for sync to occur. I had to set router to accept port 5993 for Goldmine to do syncs from remote site.
Logged

What next?
adam salam
IT Fan
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 1265

2


View Profile
« Reply #4 on: May 17, 2005, 06:11:50 AM »

Quote
Originally posted by jmcuellar
Yes it does...if the client side isnt setup to do auto syncs at certain time intervals then data wont be updated. You need to check sync issues on client side.

Or it maybe a router issue blocking port for sync to occur. I had to set router to accept port 5993 for Goldmine to do syncs from remote site.



Thanks, youn realy, switch-on a pulb in my mind Smiley

we need to learn more and more.....Wink

I will do that, and let you know
Logged

Best Regards
Adam
adam salam
IT Fan
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 1265

2


View Profile
« Reply #5 on: May 17, 2005, 08:01:13 AM »

Quote
Originally posted by jmcuellar
Yes it does...if the client side isnt setup to do auto syncs at certain time intervals then data wont be updated. You need to check sync issues on client side.

Or it maybe a router issue blocking port for sync to occur. I had to set router to accept port 5993 for Goldmine to do syncs from remote site.


Do you mean this:

Keyword   Port Protocol  Description  
pvsw-inet 2441     tcp     Pervasive I*net Data Server  
pvsw-inet 2441     udp    Pervasive I*net Data Server  

pvsw     2520     tcp     Pervasive Listener  
pvsw     2520     udp     Pervasive Listener
Logged

Best Regards
Adam
jmcuellar
Member
Jr. Member
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 73

0


View Profile
« Reply #6 on: May 17, 2005, 10:45:39 AM »

Exactly...bingo!!!
Logged

What next?
Pages: [1] Print 
« previous next »
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.13 | SMF © 2006-2011, Simple Machines LLC Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!