pharaoh fortune slot
ExamNotes.net
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
November 18, 2017, 02:22:41 AM

Login with username, password and session length
* Home Help Search Login Register
+  ExamNotes.net
|-+  General discussions
| |-+  Book Reviews
| | |-+  Computer Networking First-Step
Pages: [1] Print
Author Topic: Computer Networking First-Step  (Read 1979 times)
richhillkc

View Profile WWW
« on: January 25, 2005, 03:17:56 PM »

In addition to my regular network engineering job, I am also a networking instructor at a local university branch campus.  As such, I am always on the lookout for good analogies I can use in the networking courses I teach.  When you explain networking to beginners, you really have to step back to the first principles ever so often, in order to make sure you have the basic in your head, as well as the complex.  For this reason, I decided to check out Computer Networking First-Step (ISBN 1-58720-101-1) from Cisco Press.  The first thing I noticed when I picked up the book was the author.  I first discovered Wendell Odom a few years ago when I was recertifying my CCNA certification.  I like how he uses examples and humor to explain concepts and has an easy, conversational style to his writing which makes it easy to read.  With a lot of technical authors, reading their books can seem like a job, but not with Odom.  I recommend everything he's written.