pharaoh fortune slot
ExamNotes.net
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
November 23, 2017, 07:56:30 PM

Login with username, password and session length
* Home Help Search Login Register
+  ExamNotes.net
|-+  General discussions
| |-+  Hardware
| | |-+  2 devices sharing the same irq
0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic. « previous next »
Pages: [1] Print
Author Topic: 2 devices sharing the same irq  (Read 2885 times)
BigBoogie
Junior Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 5

0


View Profile
« on: March 18, 2005, 04:05:11 PM »

My nic and my video card. They are not conflicting or causing any type of problems. However I play online games and was wondering if having these 2 devices on the same irq might slow things down?
Logged
yanqui
still here...
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 1593

2


View Profile
« Reply #1 on: April 01, 2005, 03:55:07 PM »

Quote
Originally posted by BigBoogie
My nic and my video card. They are not conflicting or causing any type of problems. However I play online games and was wondering if having these 2 devices on the same irq might slow things down?


Why in the world is it set up to do that?
Logged

still here...
evilkid
The lost one
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Posts: 169

2


View Profile
« Reply #2 on: April 01, 2005, 08:16:18 PM »

How the..Huh? Why is it set up like that anyway?  Network cards go to IRQ 5 and 7 and the video card to another one (Can't for the life of me remember which one) totally different. Why do you even have two devices set up on the same IRQ anyway? I was taught that will cause conflicts and nothing will work. I stick to my teachings so my question is this: How the he!! did you manage to get two devices working on the same IRQ?!?!?
Logged

In the Light I was dark. Perhaps in the Dark I will be light.

well Horrah for the sounds of F***in silence.

I'm sorry. Did I blow your brains out?

Can't we all just get along? And if not, what ever happened to settling arguments with a 12 gauge shotgun?
yanqui
still here...
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 1593

2


View Profile
« Reply #3 on: April 01, 2005, 08:23:52 PM »

you probably have enough IRQ's available, 9, 10, or 11 are the most common ones used for network cards and vid cards.  Even if you're not seeing any performance degradation,  it's probably happening.  Change one of your devices to another IRQ and see if you notice a difference.  

Again, Why was it configured like that?  Especially with a system new enough to do online gaming--most devices are plug and play and the system will find its own resources to apply to the hardware.
Logged

still here...
metroidboy
Junior Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 12

0


View Profile
« Reply #4 on: April 18, 2005, 09:28:59 PM »

If its not broken don't fix it. If you feel your system is slowing down during online gaming check your average connection speed first. Is that speed usual? Does it specifically lag with you game online, as oppose to gaming offline?

What os are you using? Windows XP is pretty good at setting IRQs. I would just make a note of this 'unique' configuration and only see it as a problem if things are not functioning right.
Logged
nobby67
Senior Member
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 2325

0


View Profile WWW
« Reply #5 on: May 25, 2005, 11:46:34 AM »

The PCI bus can share IRQs without problems.
ISA bus is a different matter and you may get conflicts.

If you have a newer PC you may find that you have more IRQs than the old standard IRQ 0-15 . I have IRQ 0-22  things move on.

http://www.windowsnetworking.com/articles_tutorials/intshare.html
Logged

got the learning bug not bad for carpenter:
yanqui
still here...
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 1593

2


View Profile
« Reply #6 on: May 25, 2005, 11:50:26 AM »

OFf-topic, but Hey,Nobby,when did you get the A+ Core?

And how's the OS prep coming?
Logged

still here...
nobby67
Senior Member
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 2325

0


View Profile WWW
« Reply #7 on: May 25, 2005, 12:41:50 PM »

Hi yanqui,

Passed Core 2 years ago .
Since then the objectives change and if I want to get A+ will have to take Core again as well as OS.

 At moment I have no intention of doing any certs.

My work has nothing to do with computers so no need.
Logged

got the learning bug not bad for carpenter:
yanqui
still here...
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 1593

2


View Profile
« Reply #8 on: May 25, 2005, 12:47:52 PM »

NEver hurts to know the stuff, though, does it?  Your contributions are worth reading, though, I hope you stick around a long time.
Logged

still here...
nobby67
Senior Member
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 2325

0


View Profile WWW
« Reply #9 on: May 25, 2005, 01:10:58 PM »

Quote
Originally posted by yanqui
NEver hurts to know the stuff, though, does it?  Your contributions are worth reading, though, I hope you stick around a long time.


Thanks your right can't take away what you learn. I just try and keep up with suff.I have not been at EN for long time.
I have no work at the moment which is a bit painful. That why I've been lurking at EN.
Logged

got the learning bug not bad for carpenter:
Pages: [1] Print 
« previous next »
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.13 | SMF © 2006-2011, Simple Machines LLC Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!