pharaoh fortune slot
ExamNotes.net
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
November 19, 2017, 11:55:46 AM

Login with username, password and session length
* Home Help Search Login Register
+  ExamNotes.net
|-+  Microsoft (MCSE, MCSD, MOUS, MCAD)
| |-+  Windows 2000 track general
| | |-+  DNS question
0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic. « previous next »
Pages: [1] Print
Author Topic: DNS question  (Read 3436 times)
Dude
Senior Member
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 349

0


View Profile WWW
« on: December 06, 2004, 04:08:39 PM »

DNS is not my forte, so Im wondering if you could help me on something.  I have a domain controller (2000) with wins, dns, and active directory is installed and running with another 2000 server across my t1 line.  If I try to look at the DNS records on my server across the t1 line (server #2), it doesnt show any records.  I thought that it should replicate with server #1, which does have records.  How can I get it to do this?
Logged
em_ar_ducks
Senior Member
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Posts: 104

0


View Profile
« Reply #1 on: December 08, 2004, 01:51:19 AM »

1. Is DNS installed as "active directory" integrated on server 1 and server ?

2. How are you "looking" at the records?
Logged
Dude
Senior Member
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 349

0


View Profile WWW
« Reply #2 on: December 09, 2004, 04:24:48 AM »

both in active directory.  Tried every way to look, just cant seem to come up with anything on server 2.
Logged
jguy
M$ Master 2 B
Jr. Member
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 73

1


View Profile WWW
« Reply #3 on: December 30, 2004, 12:29:05 PM »

I would make sure that you have Port 53 access through the router that is linking the two sites.  I don't know if you have a firewall in between the two, but if you do, you'll need to open up port 53 for DNS to "talk" to one another.  Let me know how you do...

Joe
Logged

Joe W. Guy
A+,MCP(Win2K),N+
Tuscaloosa, Alabama
freak
Moderator
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 9021

2


View Profile WWW
« Reply #4 on: March 07, 2005, 07:03:07 PM »

also check that those two servers are replicating properly. Are you using NSLOOKUP to check records on the target DNS server?
Logged

Freak, MA, M.Ed., Net+,I-Net+, Security+, CEH, CEI, CCA, CCNA, MCP+I, MCSA, MCSE NT, MCSE 2K, MCT

iCertify dot net
: Free Forum, quizzes, study guides...

FreakNotes.com: free subnetting, DHCP, Network Security study guides! Also 120-page Security+ book and 100+ page Network+ book!

InfoSecWeb.com
Pages: [1] Print 
« previous next »
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.13 | SMF © 2006-2011, Simple Machines LLC Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!