pharaoh fortune slot
ExamNotes.net
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
November 24, 2017, 10:30:40 AM

Login with username, password and session length
* Home Help Search Login Register
+  ExamNotes.net
|-+  General discussions
| |-+  Programming Forum
| | |-+  Where should I start in programming
Pages: [1] 2 3 Print
Author Topic: Where should I start in programming  (Read 9472 times)
curiousgeorge
learn through asking

View Profile
« on: February 19, 2004, 03:21:23 PM »

I am a network admin. I haven't done any programming since my college days 15 years ago. And I forgot everything that I learned.

Where should I begin (which languages and in what order)?

Thanks to all that reply.

MCSA Charter Member
MCSE Early Achiever
Server+
Dell certified
HP certified
Dr. C

View Profile WWW
« Reply #1 on: February 20, 2004, 02:54:03 PM »

Originally posted by curiousgeorge
I am a network admin. I haven't done any programming since my college days 15 years ago. And I forgot everything that I learned.

Where should I begin (which languages and in what order)?

Thanks to all that reply.

This is a hars question to answer since *why* you want to program and *what* you wish to do with yout skills is important in determining your first language. If you are a Windows sysadmin, I would suggest that you first start learning DOS batch programming. Yes, I know, "DOS is dead", right? Wrong. Many of the old DOS commands are still around in Windows and can automate some of the tasks that you rotuinely wish to do. If you are a Unix admin, then learn the syntax for the Bourne shell in order to automate mahy of your tasks in that environment. At first this consists mainly of stringing together common commands in sequence, but later you will need to make use of conditions and use your scripts to make decisions based upon input or other things.