pharaoh fortune slot
ExamNotes.net
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
November 19, 2017, 09:48:14 AM

Login with username, password and session length
* Home Help Search Login Register
+  ExamNotes.net
|-+  General discussions
| |-+  Hardware
| | |-+  A little help please....
0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic. « previous next »
Pages: [1] 2 Print
Author Topic: A little help please....  (Read 2688 times)
PPonU4Me
Junior Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 8

0


View Profile
« on: October 12, 2003, 10:23:54 PM »

hey guys, I'm new here and am in need of a little help.  I am in the middle of building a PC for someone and when I go to install the OS, It says disk boot failure, insert system disk and press enter.  If I try to install from floppy, it says disk I/O error, please replace and press enter.  I am a bit stumped because it detects all drives and doesn't matter what disks I use.  It is a soyo k7vta board w/ AMD athlon xp 1600+.  any ideas?
Logged
Boulware5
Moderator
Global Moderator
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 3283

0


View Profile WWW
« Reply #1 on: October 12, 2003, 10:26:32 PM »

Can you boot from the CD?
Logged

"They that can give up essential liberty to obtain a little temporary safety deserve neither liberty nor safety."
-- Ben Franklin

http://www.stopfcc.com/
PPonU4Me
Junior Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 8

0


View Profile
« Reply #2 on: October 12, 2003, 10:29:10 PM »

no, it doesn't seem to be accepting input from any drive.
Logged
Boulware5
Moderator
Global Moderator
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 3283

0


View Profile WWW
« Reply #3 on: October 12, 2003, 10:31:42 PM »

And you are not getting any POST codes? Is it posting okay? Make sure ribbons are firmly attatched and aligned properly.
Logged

"They that can give up essential liberty to obtain a little temporary safety deserve neither liberty nor safety."
-- Ben Franklin

http://www.stopfcc.com/
PPonU4Me
Junior Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 8

0


View Profile
« Reply #4 on: October 12, 2003, 10:52:21 PM »

It posts fine, but when I try to boot from cd, it just gives me the same error message
Logged
PPonU4Me
Junior Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 8

0


View Profile
« Reply #5 on: October 12, 2003, 10:53:09 PM »

the ribbons are attached fine, I even tried different cables but got the same problem
Logged
chillcool68
Junior Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 12

0


View Profile WWW
« Reply #6 on: October 12, 2003, 11:45:20 PM »

Question, what is the HD formatted under,, NTFS, or FAT 32, is an active partition set, Huh
Logged

PPonU4Me
Junior Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 8

0


View Profile
« Reply #7 on: October 13, 2003, 12:21:03 AM »

HDD hasn't been formatted yet.  I have a 98 boot disk that I normally use, but when I try to boot with floppy, It gives me the I/O error I posted above.
Logged
chillcool68
Junior Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 12

0


View Profile WWW
« Reply #8 on: October 13, 2003, 12:56:26 AM »

Here

You may want to try this to use as a startup floppy disk,, have used it in the past and it usually worked well, good luck
Logged

PPonU4Me
Junior Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 8

0


View Profile
« Reply #9 on: October 13, 2003, 01:09:07 AM »

I have a couple of other boot disks I have tried, but keep getting the same messages.  I did have something interesting happen though.  I put an hp recovery disk in from my laptop just to see if it would read it and it did and it told me it was only for use on an hp laptop.  Why would it read that disc but not the others?  I have tried two different 98 install discs and a 98 boot disk and got the messages on all those.
Logged
PPonU4Me
Junior Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 8

0


View Profile
« Reply #10 on: October 13, 2003, 01:42:49 AM »

tried the above software and nothing has changed.
Logged
chillcool68
Junior Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 12

0


View Profile WWW
« Reply #11 on: October 13, 2003, 02:03:30 AM »

go into your BIOS and set to defaults, F10 to save and exit, also try to see if your HD is set to master or slave, if all else fails try switching your HD to IDE 2 to see if IDE 1 is working correctly, hope this helps,,,
Logged

PPonU4Me
Junior Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 8

0


View Profile
« Reply #12 on: October 13, 2003, 02:22:29 AM »

tried all of the above and nothing changes.  any other ideas?
Logged
sbragib
Senior Member
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Posts: 199

0


View Profile
« Reply #13 on: October 13, 2003, 03:47:44 AM »

Take the HDD to another system format it with /s and copy all the files from the 98 boot disk, then go back to the old system and boot, after that try using the CD/floppy......
Logged
jimbo2002
Senior Member
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Posts: 237

0


View Profile
« Reply #14 on: October 19, 2003, 11:03:14 AM »

May be a bit late with this posting, but the I/O error suggests a hardware fault probably with the floppy drive. Suggest check that the ribbon cable connecting the floppy to the mobo is the right way round, the correct type ( floppy cable has twist usually) and is not damaged. Check floppy drive also.
Logged
Pages: [1] 2 Print 
« previous next »
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.13 | SMF © 2006-2011, Simple Machines LLC Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!