pharaoh fortune slot
ExamNotes.net
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
November 21, 2017, 04:25:48 AM

Login with username, password and session length
* Home Help Search Login Register
+  ExamNotes.net
|-+  General discussions
| |-+  Hardware
| | |-+  ....and my C - Drive was History...
0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic. « previous next »
Pages: 1 [2] Print
Author Topic: ....and my C - Drive was History...  (Read 3634 times)
sukuvi
Professional Student
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 280

2


View Profile
« Reply #15 on: August 12, 2003, 02:44:58 AM »

Luisjo,

I'm not sure I understand your question. Do you have a bad disk of which you are trying to recover the data or you'd like to start a data recovery business?
Logged
StevoC
Senior Member
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 355

0


View Profile WWW
« Reply #16 on: August 13, 2003, 11:21:08 AM »

Just out of curiosity, did anyone try an fdisk /mbr?  I am wondering if it would have worked in your cases.  Also, could any of you possibly had the msblaster trojan?  (just asking because of the constant reboots...or are you not even able to get to windows?)
Logged

Just my 2?.
vincentnl
One In A Million
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 880

2


View Profile
« Reply #17 on: August 13, 2003, 01:33:52 PM »

Quote
Originally posted by StevoC
Just out of curiosity, did anyone try an fdisk /mbr?  I am wondering if it would have worked in your cases.  Also, could any of you possibly had the msblaster trojan?  (just asking because of the constant reboots...or are you not even able to get to windows?)

That msblaster stuff is what I am replying to.
You need minimal of service pack 2 if, like me, you have W2K. I tried downloading that patch and got that message. I don't like hotfixes. They mess up your systems and I was glad my pc rejected the protection. I've tried hotfixes before. You only learn by playfullness...
Logged

If I ask a question, it's because I am in doubt.
If I make fun of you, it's because you are ugly.
If I don't laugh, it's bacause I didn't get the joke.
Reading is only fun when you make it fun.

VincentNL's website is available here

Life is full of expectations, you take your chances but watch your limitations...
JeremyWatts
Senior Member
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Posts: 118

0


View Profile
« Reply #18 on: August 21, 2003, 10:16:01 PM »

This is the exact reason my files go to a DAT backup then I back up to Several Zip disk then back to cdr's and then over to the 120 gig and the boot sytems is raid 0+1 yes lots of data archiving my church material is on here and so is my music and favorites
Logged
Tarzanboy
Senior Member
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 1013

0


View Profile
« Reply #19 on: August 21, 2003, 10:33:30 PM »

Deja, I had that happen 3 times, twice with bad PSUs (1 of those 2 failures fried both drives in the system) and once through a power surge/blackout.

Cheers,
TB
Logged
Deja-vue
Challenge Everything
Global Moderator
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 3254

2


View Profile WWW
« Reply #20 on: August 26, 2003, 11:08:45 PM »

Quote
Originally posted by Tarzanboy
Deja, I had that happen 3 times, twice with bad PSUs (1 of those 2 failures fried both drives in the system) and once through a power surge/blackout.

Cheers,
TB


Tarzan, it is a 550 Watt Antec Powersupply, that i bought not too long ago.
After extensive testing, i re-formatted the Drives and using them now again.
I am pushing large Videofiles ( 5 Gigs) back and forth between them right now to see, if they would hold up.
Sisoft Sandra reports nice transfer-speeds, and i think, it was a software-related issue.
Perhaps the motherboard-switch between Tyan and Gigabyte did it.

But then, a clean, fresh install never hurt.
Smiley
Logged

Pages: 1 [2] Print 
« previous next »
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.13 | SMF © 2006-2011, Simple Machines LLC Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!