pharaoh fortune slot
ExamNotes.net
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
November 18, 2017, 11:33:32 AM

Login with username, password and session length
* Home Help Search Login Register
+  ExamNotes.net
|-+  Microsoft (MCSE, MCSD, MOUS, MCAD)
| |-+  Server 2003
| | |-+  installing new server
0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic. « previous next »
Pages: [1] Print
Author Topic: installing new server  (Read 1531 times)
pam9366
Member
Jr. Member
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 52

0


View Profile
« on: May 22, 2003, 06:01:03 PM »

I am getting ready to install a new server at work.  Any thoughts on doing 2003 vs 2000?  I have 50 users at 2 sites.  We have to be HIPAA compliant.  We will be doing a WAN with CISCO 1700 routers.  Running exchange 2000 for email and two sql programs
Logged

God grant me the serenity to accept the things I can't change and the wisdom to know where to bury the bodies
Deja-vue
Challenge Everything
Global Moderator
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 3254

2


View Profile WWW
« Reply #1 on: May 23, 2003, 02:00:56 AM »

Pam, you're better off with Windows 2000, since Win 2003 Server does not support Exchange 2000.
Sad

I am facing the same problem and will install Exchange 2003 Beta next month in my lab to play with it.
Logged

Tarzanboy
Senior Member
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 1013

0


View Profile
« Reply #2 on: May 23, 2003, 02:44:11 AM »

Several people have gotten Exchange2k to run on WS2k3. Unfortunately, it required a bit of modification and is wholely unsupported by Microsoft.

Cheers,
TB
Logged
pam9366
Member
Jr. Member
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 52

0


View Profile
« Reply #3 on: May 23, 2003, 06:34:52 AM »

sorry guys.  If we go with Windows 2003 we will go with exchange 2003
Logged

God grant me the serenity to accept the things I can't change and the wisdom to know where to bury the bodies
jeff_j_black
that's what "THEY" said..
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 2723

2


View Profile
« Reply #4 on: May 23, 2003, 09:13:18 AM »

I recall for the Launch event that there are issues with how 2003 replicates group information vs. how 2000 does it. I would be interested to hear more about it. Maybe not good to use production network to find out though.
Logged
KScheler
Senior Member
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 734

0


View Profile WWW
« Reply #5 on: May 23, 2003, 09:18:30 AM »

I agree with Jeff. If you're going to try this with Win03, please do it in a lab first. We have a philosophy here, nothing gets rolled out into our production enviornment until after the first service pack is released. Besides, has Exchange 2003 been released yet?
Logged
jeff_j_black
that's what "THEY" said..
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 2723

2


View Profile
« Reply #6 on: May 23, 2003, 09:28:44 AM »

I think it has, but there are several parts and add on features that are still in the pipe.
Logged
pam9366
Member
Jr. Member
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 52

0


View Profile
« Reply #7 on: May 23, 2003, 06:19:59 PM »

yep I agree.  Thanks guys.  We are going to do win 2000 and exchange 2000.  I hate being a guniea pig - we did that with xp
Logged

God grant me the serenity to accept the things I can't change and the wisdom to know where to bury the bodies
Pages: [1] Print 
« previous next »
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.13 | SMF © 2006-2011, Simple Machines LLC Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!