Home > Archive > alt.certification.a-plus > October 2003 > Just a warning to others





You are viewing an archived Text-only version of the thread. To view this thread in it's original format and/or if you want to reply to this thread please [click here]

Author Just a warning to others
Kathy

2003-10-21, 2:25 pm

This is for anyone else using Yahoo email....

The other day I got this email that claimed it came from the Yahoo staff... it did look just like something you would get from them... anyway, I thought it was strange that this would go into my bulk folder in the first place because usually anything from them goes directly into my inbox. The email claimed that my account was being flagged due to fradulent information and that they needed my credit card # in order to continue with my service... Of course I didn't go ahead and do this because I sensed this was all wrong and I didn't have a "special" service with Yahoo anyways. I emailed Yahoo support and the abuse department investigated this... it was all a hoax... just someone trying to get my credit cards #'s, but I wanted to warn others that also have an email account through Yahoo that this is a hoax and if you also get something like this forward it using the full header and send it to abuse@yahoo.com

I guess these guys picked the wrong person to try to get personal info out of *LOL*

Just wanted to let others know.... in case anyone else gets an email like this :-)

Kathy
A+
Rick Blythin

2003-10-21, 4:25 pm

Kathy,

There are some really idiots out there,

I had a similar case from some guy who claimed to be from Microsoft and told
me I was in volation of using the Microsoft name on my website. Though no
where did I ever say I was MS certified. He claimed he was not at the
office, I found it very strange he was using a Yahoo account. He sent a
second mail after saying to forget the first.. I still quite happily
forwarded the mail to Yahoo abuse. I guess he realised after I was quite a
qualified tech and was afraid of what I'd do. If you're gotta try and pull
that stunt at least use an MS owned e-mail address LOL.

I don't know any company who requests a c.c number via e-mail without using
a secure 128-bit web link. When will they learn not to mess with us A+ techs
:-)

Rick
A+, Network+

"Kathy" <computermonkeyNOSPAM@inbox.net> wrote in message
news:vpat5tgoppgg12@corp.supernews.com...
This is for anyone else using Yahoo email....

The other day I got this email that claimed it came from the Yahoo staff...
it did look just like something you would get from them... anyway, I thought
it was strange that this would go into my bulk folder in the first place
because usually anything from them goes directly into my inbox. The email
claimed that my account was being flagged due to fradulent information and
that they needed my credit card # in order to continue with my service... Of
course I didn't go ahead and do this because I sensed this was all wrong and
I didn't have a "special" service with Yahoo anyways. I emailed Yahoo
support and the abuse department investigated this... it was all a hoax...
just someone trying to get my credit cards #'s, but I wanted to warn others
that also have an email account through Yahoo that this is a hoax and if you
also get something like this forward it using the full header and send it to
abuse@yahoo.com

I guess these guys picked the wrong person to try to get personal info out
of *LOL*

Just wanted to let others know.... in case anyone else gets an email like
this :-)

Kathy
A+


Danny Kile

2003-10-21, 5:24 pm

Kathy wrote:
> This is for anyone else using Yahoo email....
>
> The other day I got this email that claimed it came from the Yahoo
> staff... it did look just like something you would get from them...
> anyway, I thought it was strange that this would go into my bulk folder
> in the first place because usually anything from them goes directly into
> my inbox. The email claimed that my account was being flagged due to
> fradulent information and that they needed my credit card # in order to
> continue with my service... Of course I didn't go ahead and do this
> because I sensed this was all wrong and I didn't have a "special"
> service with Yahoo anyways. I emailed Yahoo support and the abuse
> department investigated this... it was all a hoax... just someone trying
> to get my credit cards #'s, but I wanted to warn others that also have
> an email account through Yahoo that this is a hoax and if you also get
> something like this forward it using the full header and send it to
> abuse@yahoo.com <mailto:abuse@yahoo.com>
>
> I guess these guys picked the wrong person to try to get personal info
> out of *LOL*
>
> Just wanted to let others know.... in case anyone else gets an email
> like this :-)
>
> Kathy
> A+


I to have received a couple of these type e-mails, one was for E-Bay and
one for PayPal. Both looked ligament but if you went to the web site to
enter the info and looked at the source you could see that the submit
button would take you to a web site that had nothing to do with E-Bay or
PayPal. I submitted them to E-Bay and PayPal. There are a lot of
unscrupulous people trying to get your money anyway they can. I am quite
computer savvy, but can you imagine all the people that do fall for this.

--
Danny Kile
Please reply to the Newsgroup ONLY

"Dogs come when they're called, CATS take a message and get back to
you." Mary Bly

Kathy

2003-10-22, 11:24 am

Actually, I never received anything like this before in the whole 7
years I have been using the Internet. When I first got this email I
sent a reply and I usually send the email that was originally sent to
me into the email, well, that email that was sent to me was encrypted
in the composer and that was suspicious to me, so right off I knew it
was a hoax, so thats when I contacted Yahoo. I checked the full header
and it originally came from Tokyo and they were using IE 5.0.... I
just feel bad for the others that aren't quite as savvy as we are....
Can you imagine these idiots randomly pick they're prey and then max
out these people's credit cards?


C. Philip Cutler II

2003-10-22, 1:24 pm

Well it's a good thing they are not as savvy as we are Kathy, cause if they
were, what would we be doing to earn our pennies and farthings?

Philip

"Kathy" <computermonkeyNOSPAM@inbox.net> wrote in message
news:vpd72r6r4pudf8@corp.supernews.com...
> Actually, I never received anything like this before in the whole 7
> years I have been using the Internet. When I first got this email I
> sent a reply and I usually send the email that was originally sent to
> me into the email, well, that email that was sent to me was encrypted
> in the composer and that was suspicious to me, so right off I knew it
> was a hoax, so thats when I contacted Yahoo. I checked the full header
> and it originally came from Tokyo and they were using IE 5.0.... I
> just feel bad for the others that aren't quite as savvy as we are....
> Can you imagine these idiots randomly pick they're prey and then max
> out these people's credit cards?
>
>



Kathy

2003-10-22, 5:25 pm

You bet it's a good thing, but maybe if they were Internet savvy, then
that would be okay :-)


"C. Philip Cutler II" <cpcii@cox.net> wrote in message
news:HDylb.72534$vj2.53061@fed1read06...
> Well it's a good thing they are not as savvy as we are Kathy, cause

if they
> were, what would we be doing to earn our pennies and farthings?
>
> Philip
>



eveversion4

2003-10-22, 9:24 pm

Kathy wrote:
> This is for anyone else using Yahoo email....
>
> The other day I got this email that claimed it came from the Yahoo
> staff... it did look just like something you would get from them...
> anyway, I thought it was strange that this would go into my bulk folder
> in the first place because usually anything from them goes directly into
> my inbox. The email claimed that my account was being flagged due to
> fradulent information and that they needed my credit card # in order to
> continue with my service... Of course I didn't go ahead and do this
> because I sensed this was all wrong and I didn't have a "special"
> service with Yahoo anyways. I emailed Yahoo support and the abuse
> department investigated this... it was all a hoax... just someone trying
> to get my credit cards #'s, but I wanted to warn others that also have
> an email account through Yahoo that this is a hoax and if you also get
> something like this forward it using the full header and send it to
> abuse@yahoo.com <mailto:abuse@yahoo.com>
>
> I guess these guys picked the wrong person to try to get personal info
> out of *LOL*
>
> Just wanted to let others know.... in case anyone else gets an email
> like this :-)
>
> Kathy
> A+


I've gotten few those a few times and I know to delete them. I usually
also check on the Urban Legends Reference Page at http://www.snopes.com.
under the "Inboxer Rebellion" section and ten to one, the hoax or scam
is usually already been posted there.

eve

--
**************************
Remove _DONTSENDMECRAP_ to send email to me. Thanks!!

Sponsored Links





Free Braindumps | MCSE braindumps software forum

Copyright 2003 - 2008 examnotes.net