Home > Archive > CCNP > April 2001 > Be careful about exam passer.





You are viewing an archived Text-only version of the thread. To view this thread in it's original format and/or if you want to reply to this thread please [click here]

Author Be careful about exam passer.
Webmaster

2001-04-26, 9:43 pm

I've been reading this thread where BlueBaron had exposed the backdoor advertising of exam passer.

Great detective work!

I decided to follow up on these and looked into it further. Here is what I found:

It looks like several "users" have been making positive comments about the aforementioned site in almost every post they make. Upon further investigation I found that positive comments about the abovementioned site are made by:

Hamilbone13
AgentOrange
cardshark
jdcisco

All of these names are using the same ISP to access the site: va.dialup.rcn.com

In some cases these posts came from the same IP addresses under different usernames. When posts did not come from the same IP addresses, they came from the same subnet.

Notice the va part in the ISP dns. According to the networksolutions the aforementioned site is registered in
Fredericksburg, VA

Of cause these all could be a co-incidence and all these wonderful people are just happened to use the same ISP and live in VA and like the exam passer so much they include the raving review about it in almost every post they make. If this is the case, I sincerely apologize.

I just feel it's my obligation to inform the rest of the members that may rely on other's reviews when making a decision about a particular practice site.

And thanks again Bluebaron for that excellent detective work.

Untill further notice the site in question has been added to filtered words list to prevent this type of advertising and disservice to our members.
BlueBaron

2001-04-27, 12:20 am

I've been replying to most people via PM, as I didn't want to propogate off-topic discussion.
JDCisco has a few aliases as well. He is also known as JeffDW (On BrainBuzz and CertifyExpress) and RouterPilot in The Lounge forum. Myself and one other person from this forum (who shall, by me, remain nameless) also suspected Cardshark and Hamilbone. AgentOrange is a new one to me though.
I followed Jeff W. to most of the messageboards in this community and posted warnings to those boards about his practices. BrainBuzz has filtered out his site name as well.
Thanks goes to the people of this forum for putting up with my "thinking out loud" posts.
I have e-mailed Jeff W., and have received no response. Go figure.
Thanks Webmaster for the follow up, info, and kudos.
MadChef

2001-04-27, 5:02 am

I have to thank you both again for your hard work.
Webmaster, you do an excellent job at keeping this forum a valuable place to read and learn. Bluebaron, I'd visit you're site more because I like it, but this forum sucks up enough of my time already and your registration requires too much info.

Good job.

MadChef
Webmaster

2001-04-27, 7:37 am

Hey BlueBaron, you right again, after seeing your post I decided to drop by Brainbuzz forum and found a thread where the 3 of these same user names are having a wonderfull "casual" conversation about the same site:

This thread

The site name now appears to be filtered out on Brainbuzz.
Randy

2001-04-27, 7:41 am

Kinda makes one feel good to have such astute detectives here, heheheheeee! Keep up the good work!
BlueBaron

2001-04-27, 9:42 am

Hey MadChef . . . you know, you don't HAVE to enter all that information in . . . I don't believe it's all required. <=)
MadChef

2001-04-27, 10:12 am

quote:
Originally posted by BlueBaron
Hey MadChef . . . you know, you don't HAVE to enter all that information in . . . I don't believe it's all required. <=)


It does SAY that it's all required, not that one has to tell the truth or anything. I started to register this morning to respond to a post and just didn't quite feel like going through at all. Some time I will, I'm sure.

MadChef
BlueBaron

2001-04-27, 10:28 am

That's cool . . . also know that you're not required to register to post.
Sponsored Links





Free Braindumps | MCSE braindumps software forum

Copyright 2003 - 2008 examnotes.net